Making My Own Dishwashing Detergent

Mike and I went and did all our bulk shopping yesterday and are still in the process of getting it all set up, so I will tell you about that in another post.  Today I made my own dish washing detergent and am very happy with how it turned out.  I got the recipe for it off of Pintrest, of course, and couldn’t wait to try it.

So, here what you need

1 box Borax
1 box Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda
24 packs sugar free lemonade mix
3 cups Epson Salt
It really very simple you just mix all these things up very well in a big pot
And then put the mix in a container.  I used a cereal container from Walmart because the directions suggested it and it has a spout for pouring
You use one tablespoon of detergent for each load.
So here is how the cost works out and I have to say that unless you have a cheap place to buy borax and washing soda, like the little local grocery store here in Lebanon, I’m not sure it would work out price wise. 
1 Box Borax- $2.50
1 Box Washing Soda- $2.50
24 packs Koolaid- $3.00
3 cups Espon Salt- $2.00
Total- $10.00
 My batch yielded 160 ounces of detergent which come out to about $0.06 per ounce.  The detergent that I have been using, Cascade Complete Powder Citrus Breeze, costs $0.17 per ounce.  So for this batch I saved $17.60.  I am pretty happy with that number.  But again I saw that borax was about $5.00 a box at Walmart so if you had to pay that price I am not sure it would be worth it, once you factor in your time.
Also, if you have hard water, like we do, you will want to buy Lemi Shine Rinse Aid to sprinkle in the bottom of your dishwasher.
Leave a Reply

