Madie’s Christmas Concert

Madie had her very first Christmas Concert this year.  As a parent there are certain events that make you realize that your babies are growing up.  I know it sounds stupid but sometimes it feels like just yesterday that I was bringing her home from the hospital and now she is a first grader!

I knew that every little girl there would be wearing their Christmas dress and so it was time to take her shopping, of course.  We went to Walmart, which is the only big store in our town, she found a dress she loved but they didn’t have it in her size.  Then we went to the little boutiques downtown and again nothing.  I was going to take her into Albany but figured I would checkout the Mother Goose second hand store before we left.  They sell these beautiful hand made headbands and bows and I figured we could pick up a few more for Abby and maybe get Madie something in a neutral color.  When we pulled up Madie saw this red dress in the window and could not stop talking about it.  It was love at first sight 🙂  and as luck would have it, it happened to be her size.  So we bought her that dress, a pair of shoes and a matching bow all for $20.  I don’t usually shop second hand but I am beginning to think I should look into it more. 

The end result

Moving to Lebanon has honestly been the most amazing thing to happen to us.  We are surrounded by crowds of support and love.  I always have someone to call for help and our spiritual lives are continuing to grow and mature.  I say this because sitting in Madie’s cheering section at the concert were myself, Mike, Tommy, Sarah, Mom and Dad all holding some form of a camera! How incredibly blessed are we to be surrounded by so many people who love us! When we got the program at her concert we saw this

Now, anyone who has never been to an elementary school concert….GO! Even if you don’t have a kid in it.  They are seriously one of the funniest things I have seen.  Between the little girl stomping and pouting on stage and the sweet little down syndrome girl dancing like Beyonce, we laughed the entire time.  Madie’s class was so cute!

I was so nervous for Madie when her solo came up.  But she rocked it!!!! For those who don’t know music is very important to me.  I love to sing and play guitar.  So hearing my little girl sing with her beautiful little voice in tune was an amazing feeling.  Its nice to see some small part of yourself in your children.
One thought on “Madie’s Christmas Concert

Leave a Reply

