What is your Gospel?

I am down for another round.  This quiet time gives me the oppertunity to spend time with God, to stop and reflect.  I’ve been thinking on so many things the last few months and have shared a few and wanted to share a few more.

A few months ago I had a disagreement with a fellow christian woman.  Not a fight by any means but we hit a topic that we viewed very differently.  I left that evening feeling like nothing was accomplished, she hadn’t brought up a point that changed my mind and I certainly hadn’t changed hers.  It felt frustrating.  A couple of weeks went by and she approached me at church.  She apologized and told me that while we didn’t see eye to eye on this she didn’t want it to cause an issue between us.  She told me that she didn’t want this issue to be her Gospel. I left church thinking on what she said and I have chewed on it for a couple months now.

What is my Gospel? What is the thing I believe in so strongly, I can’t help but share it with others? What is the thing I can’t be silenced on? Is it Jesus? I took a step back from myself and really looked at my life.  I looked at my conversations, relationships, facebook posts…what am I preaching? My answer wasn’t Jesus.  It was a bit humbling.  Not only was it not Jesus, it wasn’t even love.

“By this all will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” John 13.35

I had my own particular brand of doctrine that I was preaching.  I needed a heart check.  I need a perspective change. It is very much a work in progress.  But as I am working on this I want to challenge others to do the same.

What is your gospel?  If someone were to describe what you believe in or stand for would Jesus be the answer? Look over your facebook posts, what articles do you share more than anything else? What is it that you can’t help but share with everyone you meet? These things come in various forms. The list of things we can stand for is endless…parenting choices, marriage styles, homeschooling, public schooling, women’s rights, a political view, organic living, natural treatments, a diet choice, a fitness regime…the list goes on and on. None of these things are bad.  It certainly isn’t wrong to be passionate and believe in something.  But has it taken the place of the actual Gospel? Is it what you are known for, above being a follower of Christ? Does it cause dissension in your relationships? Do you preach this more than you share God’s love?

Please follow me in doing a heart check.  I am so incredibly guilty of this.  I am desiring to change, praying that he gives me direction and shows me how.  I want to be known as a follower of Christ first and foremost.  I want to point the people I encounter in my life to Christ not a lifestyle choice.  I do not want to limit the sharing of my faith because I am afraid it will annoy or offend people.  I want to be bold.

903b36b7c02da06decda6343f533a1fd

Leave a Reply

