We Serve A King

I am sure that this will rub all sorts of people wrong but I don’t want to be silent anymore.  I have spent days quietly watching and making no comments but I am heartbroken.  I am heartbroken over the stance and heart of so many Christians right now, people who I love and those who I don’t even know.

I am very proud to be an American.  I am humbled by the men and women who have fought to keep this country free and safe. BUT my first allegiance isn’t to a country or a president, it is to a King.  I think that at times we forget that we are not of this world and that our true citizenship isn’t to one country.

If you were of the world, the world would love its own. Yet because you are not of this world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you.” John 15:19

We belong to and serve something much greater than America.

For our citizenship is in heaven, from which we also eagerly wait for the Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ,” Philippians 3:20

Our people, the ones God has called us to help, are not contained within the borders of this country we happen to live in.  As shocking as it may be, because we tie religion and patriotism together, God’s people stretch far and wide across this world.  And the people he wants for his kingdom is far greater, every single person who has ever and will ever walk on this earth.  Those are the people we are called to help.

“Give to him who asks you, and from him who wants to borrow from you do not turn away.” Matthew 5:42

“Give, and it will be given to you: good measure, pressed down, shaken together, and running over will be put into your bosom. For with the same measure that you use, it will be measured back to you.” Luke 6:38

“But do not forget to do good and to share, for with such sacrifices God is well pleased.” Hebrews 13:16

God did not qualify his command to help others.  He didn’t say help others but only; IF they live in your own country, IF they happen to share your same political views, IF they are also christian, IF everyone in your own country is taken care of first, or even IF it is safe.  My life and the life of my children is not more valuable than the lives of Syrians (although if you are really worried about who they let in this country read this).  I know that idea seems foreign to us as we are taught to protect our own first.  But as followers of God we are taught to value others higher than ourselves.

In the last few days I have seen and heard things contrary to God’s heart from my brothers and sisters in Christ.  In fact I actually saw someone call the Syrian refugees “Inbred Rebels”.  So let me be very clear on what I think. These people are valuable to God! They are precious to him, they are loved by him, and he wants them.  Men, women and beautiful children are hungry, homeless, scared, and dying.  Our savior is heartbroken.  Whether those people are Muslim or not doesn’t change the fact that God loves them.  We have an amazing oppurtunity to share the love of God and to show people what he is really like.  We can win people for the kingdom! We can show people who are raised in violence what true peace is.

I know its been a bracelet and cliche but, what would Jesus do? Truly we should ask that everyday of our lives and in every situation.  But specifically today, what would he do? If he was standing here now seeing people he loved dying, desperate and afraid…what would he do? Would he shut his doors and say, “I’ll help but only after I take care of everyone in my own house first”? Would he tell them sorry but I don’t care for the current religion your under? Would he say, “A few of you might be dangerous so take your children and go somewhere else”? Really think about what you are saying.  I mean really think about it.  Does it line up with God’s heart?

The last few Sundays, as we go through Luke, we’ve been talking about Jesus always being drawn to the greatest need.  Regardless of the consequences or what people would think of him he helped people, people no one else would help or even touch.  That’s who my King is.  That’s who my allegiance is to.  That’s who I follow.

1-John-3-17-18

One thought on “We Serve A King

Leave a Reply

